Diary – When photography becomes dangerous

Friday 19th April 2024

It was very early in the morning, when I received a text message from Floodline Alert.

The weather had taken a turn for the worst, a storm was on its way!

Storms bring both excitement and danger, for me, I just love to photograph the huge waves that a storm brings. I just love those waves that go absolutely crazy, leaping into the air totally out of control.

The problem I have, I sometimes forget the danger!

As I lift my camera to my eye and look through the lens, the sea draws me in, it hypnotises me, I become so consumed with the dancing sea and its spectacular show.

When the humongous wave reaches its great crescendo, I simply forget that it will come crashing down somewhere.

The sea is so very unpredictable and when other factors like strong winds and storms join in they can create a powerful swell and huge breaking waves that pose a significant threat to both ships and life.

I just totally forget the force which is exerted by those stormy large waves.

On Tuesday, I forgot all the dangers that stormy seas bring.

I was just so excited to see what I could capture with my camera.

I rushed out at high tide, driving a short distance to a favourite spot where I know the waves would be crashing in and leaping into the air.

As I drove, I knew taking the coastal route that runs along the side of the prom would be dangerous, the waves would be crash in, bring with them debris and pebbles!

Not wanting my car to be damaged by any debris, I pull off the main road onto a side street, park up and continuing on foot.

The wind is so strong it is making walking difficult, I even come to a standstill as some gusts nearly knock me off my feet. Correcting my balance I am off again, walking nearer and nearer to the prom wall.

Now as we have had flood warnings all the sea defence gates have been closed, this is to hold the high tide waters at bay, also there could be danger to life!

Me, I proceed to get as close as I possibly can.

I stand with camera in hand, looking through the lens. Oh my goodness the wind is so strong! I a struggling to hold the camera still!

Then all at once I hear rumblings. A sound very similar to thunder! With almighty roar and crash, I feel the sea spray coming near.

No time to move! The giant monster of a wave is upon me!

I turn my back on this beast trying to protect my camera, but it’s too late, no time to move, no time to protect. The huge beast of a wave encases me in salty freezing cold water.

Wow!

I take in a gasp of air, as the freezing cold water penetrates my clothing.

I need a moment!

What has just happened!

In a blink of an eye that humongous wave had encased me!

As the sea retracted, I was back!

Reality hit me!

It was time to go home, being outdoors was far too dangerous!

I walk away from the sea wall, drenched!

My camera and camera bag are completely soaked, my feet are squelching as the sea water had filled my boots, the coat that once protected my body from the wind and rain is no more.

I walk back to my car looking a right soggy mess. It served me right!

Who in their right mind would go out to take photos on such a stormy day!

Me!

7 thoughts on “Diary – When photography becomes dangerous

  1. WOW! That picture of the wave about to engulf you is amazing! What did hubby think when you showed it to him and told him how you got it? Did you get a lecture on being more careful? Elaine

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so glad you weren’t swept away! Truly we don’t know the power of the sea!! Keep safe dear Gail. Your photos are brilliant but your life and health are more important xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. !!! No holding back when following your passions, eh?

    Gail, this sounds like pure joy…with a healthy dose of adrenaline rushing through your veins! You are such a role model for living life to the fullest! And look at those spectacular photographs with an exciting tale to accompany them! Herman Melville would be proud you ventured out on your soggy, perilous, adventure! 🩷

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So many great photos involve big risks. Put yourself on that list! And now that you’ve done it, you don’t have to do it again 😉

    Like

Leave a comment