Diary – School Years

Monday 29th April 2024

After I started to write blogs about my childhood, I realised I had very few photos available.

I had no idea where I have put the old photos!

Why have they all disappeared!

After a week of thinking and searching, I eventually retrieve a couple from social media, but still can’t find the original photos!

Dementia and loosing things…Now that’s another topic!

Anyway, as if by magic 2 photos albums just appeared on the shelf!

I have very little recollection of this photo, looking at the background it was definitely taken outside Buckingham Palace, I would imagine possibly a holiday or a visit to see my Aunt and Uncle whom live in the south of England

I do vaguely remember that my mum had made me a trouser suit. The top of the suit was a very crinkly material, quite funny to the touch.

My mum made lots of my clothes, she had too, I was just so small and skinny that finding clothes to fit me was a bit of a problem.

Mum made all my ballet dresses too!

I absolutely loved ballet when I was young. I would have classes during the week after school and then competitions at the weekend, where mum would ferry me around to the different places, like Leeds, Blackburn, Blackpool. There I would perform alone on a stage In front of 3 or 4 judges.

I can remember the hustle and bustle of waiting your turn to perform. It could be so busy backstage as I patently waited for my number to be called.

I can remember there was always lots of young giggling girls all very excitable, practicing their ballet routine, having their hair and makeup done. The corridors were just filled with girls in ballet dresses and colourful costumes.

It was hectic, but I did love the the competitions.

When I was around 10 we moved house, this move was really traumatic, I was leaving the school where all my friends were. Also there was the trauma of leaving the home I had always known.

I started a new school, which I hated! I was bullied constantly. I didn’t know anyone or even like anyone and I hated the teachers!One particular teacher would hit me with a ruler in my palm of my hand for every word i spelt wrong.

I know spelling was not my strongest subject, this was mainly because the infant school i attended was part of a reading and writing experiment, it was called the ITA method.

The intention of ITA was to create a simple version of the written words, making it easier and quicker for children to read, it turned out in many ways to be the very opposite. ITA, in fact, added several complications to learning to read and spell.

Look at the text on the book below, I was learning this method in my early years, which I think definitely had an impact on my reading and writing.

High school was a much better transition for me, I did enjoy my time at Edge End High being involved in dance and the odd school production. I had lots of friends, one of which my parents called the walking bomb! Everything she touched, she damaged or broke!

Through school I went to college, just 1 day a week to study Textile and Design, I loved this day as the coach would pick us up out side of the school and take us to the college in Burnley. We would rush into the canteen for a potato cake…Oh my goodness they were the best, dripping in butter they would just melt in your mouth. I have never been able to find a potato cake as good as the ones at Burnley College!

After finishing my education. I went to work in a hairdresser completing my apprenticeship and gaining qualifications in both Hairdressing and Hair Science. Unfortunately I was made redundant in my 3rd year of hairdressing and took a different career direction…Textiles.

18 years old, I start working in a local mill, William Reeds.

My Parents, Grandparents, and other family members all working in the same mill, even met my first husband while working at William Reeds.

Two years I think I worked at William Reeds.

By the age of 21, I was married and expecting my first daughter

So another chapter begins…Motherhood

Leave a comment