Diary – Day 1 of the Lake District

Monday 18th March 2024

Windermere

We have had our first holiday of the year booked for sometime now.

Booking a holiday always gives me and hubby something to look forward too, it’s like a little boost, as the holiday day gets nearer.

Monday 4th March 2024 was Destination was the Lake District.

We really need this break, yet I’m so worried about my grandson. I suppose the good thing is we holidaying in the UK, so we are not a million miles away if needed.

Must stop panicking!

Must start packing!

Now packing for a holiday is much more difficult since dementia stepped into my life.

I have lists, lists and more lists.

I now allocate a room in our house for packing!

I have a box for food stuff, as we are self catering.

I have clothes rail to place all the clothes we are taking with us.

I have a box where shoes go

A box for dog things

Oh my goodness the lists and boxes are endless!

I fact I get myself in a bit of a state, worrying if I have remembered everything, which is so stupid! I know!

Always have that panic day, where I say I can’t do this anymore!

I feel like my head is going to burst!

Then as the morning of the 4th March arrives, the anxiety kicks in, reality hits.

I’m leaving the comfort of my secure space… my routine…my sanctuary!

We hit the road just after lunch and reach the Lake District around 2.30 pm.

As we can’t check in until 4pm we park up in Windermere and have a lovely relaxing walk along the water’s edge.

The anxiety over traveling has just been washed away. The beautiful idilic setting always takes my breath away.

With the stunning snow capped mountains in the distance, the calm sounds of water as it touches the shoreline, the suns rays warming my face as I look out over the vast open body of water.

Breathe…

As we walk, the calmness surrounds us with a beautiful background sound of bird song.

What a beautiful tuneful chorus.

At 4pm we move on towards the lodge we will be staying in for the next 4 days

On arrival at the lodge we are pleased with our accommodation apart from a few cleaning issues, which we rectify, take photos and report to reception.

A short walk to the marina, no sunset, just a different view.

A perfect end to our day.

4 thoughts on “Diary – Day 1 of the Lake District

  1. So glad you and hubby get away for 4 days. The room looks very nice, and the pictures of the lake and the clouds in the sky in the one picture are so interesting. By now you’re home, and I hope you were able to relax together. Best regards, Elaine

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment